The regional winners will now go forward to June's national awards

The full list of RIBA Regional Awards has been announced.

Allford Hall Monaghan Morris will be among those celebrating, with four wins in the London region alone. It scooped the capital’s Building of the Year award for its Westminster Academy, and picked up gongs for the Johnson Building and Sweeps Apartments, Adelaide Wharf, and Sunshine House.

Hopkins Architects was honoured three times, for its National Tennis Centre, Alnwick Garden Pavilion and its Sanger Building at Bryanston School.

John McAslan was also a three-time winner, for John Galsworthy Building, Kingston University; its Statistics Building at Lancaster University and De La Warr Pavilion.

Two-time winners included Allies and Morrison, Foster + Partners, Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners, Ian Simpson Architects, BDP, DSDHA and Wilkinson Eyre.

All of the regional award-winning buildings will be put forward for the national awards in June, whose winners are then considered for the Stirling Prize, awarded in October.

The full list of winners is:

North East

  • Alnwick Garden Pavilion by Hopkins Architects
  • Bamburgh Clinic by MAAP Architects
  • Lifestyle Academy by RMJM Scotland

North West

  • Abito Apartments by BDP
  • Arena & Convention Centre (ACC) Liverpool by Wilkinson Eyre
  • The Bluecoat by biq
  • Chimney Pot Park by Shed KM
  • Guest Street Housing by De Metz Forbes Knight Architects Ltd
  • Hilton Tower by Ian Simpson Architects
  • John Rylands University Library by Austin-Smith: Lord
  • Lancaster University Post Graduate Statistics Centre by John McAslan & Partners
  • Manchester Civil Justice Centre by Denton Corker Marshall
  • Private House North West by Stephenson Bell Architects
  • Small Animal Teaching Hospital, University of Liverpool by Sheppard Robson


  • Accordia by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • Halligan House by Simon Conder Associates
  • Lecture Hall, University of Essex by Patel Taylor
  • Theatre Royal, Bury St Edmunds by Levitt Bernstein Associates
  • Thomas Deacon Academy by Foster + Partners
  • Trinity Park Events Centre by van Heyningen and Haward Architects
  • Watford Music Centre by Tim Ronalds Architects
  • Wysing Arts Centre - Studio Block by Hawkins Brown

East Midlands

  • Old Market Square by Gustafson Porter
  • Oundle School Science Technology Block by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios


  • Listed Wind Tunnels by Julian Harrap Architects
  • National Film and TV School by Glenn Howells Architects
  • North Wall Arts Centre by Haworth Tompkins
  • Oxley Park by Rogers Stirk Harbour & Partners
  • Pinewood Infant School by Hampshire County Council Architecture & Design Services
  • University Centre by Design Engine Architects
  • University College Boathouse by Belsize Architects
  • Winchester Discovery Centre by Hampshire County Council Architecture & Design Services

South East

  • De La Warr Pavillion by John McAslan & Partners
  • East Beach Café by Heatherwick Studio
  • The Lightbox by Marks Barfield Architects

South West

  • The Exchange by MUMA
  • Newlyn Art Gallery by MUMA
  • The Roland Levinsky Building by Building Design Partnership


  • 8DKH by John Smart Architects
  • Adelaide Wharf by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
  • Bourbon Lane housing by Cartwright Pickard Architects
  • The Centre for Film & Visual Media Studies by Surface Architects
  • Classroom of the Future by Gollifer Langston Architects
  • Coin Street Neighbourhood Centre by Haworth Tompkins
  • Cremorne Riverside Centre by Sarah Wigglesworth Architects
  • Garden Apartment by Gianni Botsford Architects
  • Glass & Timber Houses – Dulwich by Hampson Williams.
  • Herringbone Houses by Alison Brooks Architects
  • Hesmondhalgh House by Studio Bednarski Ltd
  • A House for an Art Collector by Ash Sakula Architects
  • John Galsworthy Building, Kingston University by John McAslan + Partners
  • The Johnson Building & Sweeps Apartments by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
  • Lawn Tennis Association's National Tennis Centre by Hopkins Architects
  • The Long House by Keith Williams Architects
  • Richard Feilden House by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • Rivington Place by Adjaye Associates
  • Royal Festival Hall by Allies and Morrison
  • Royal Observatory by Allies and Morrison
  • The Sackler Crossing by John Pawson
  • St Marylebone Church of England School Performing Arts Facility by Gumuchdjian Architects
  • St Pancras International by Alastair Lansley (for Union Railways)
  • Sunshine House by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
  • Terminal 5, Heathrow Airport by Rogers Stirk Harbour & Partners
  • Vicco's Tower by 51% Studios
  • Wembley Stadium by Foster + Partners/HOK Sport
  • Westminster Academy at the Naim Dangoor Centre by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris LLP
  • William Bellamy Children's Centre by DSDHA


  • Baden Powell Outdoor Centre by Wilkinson King Architects
  • Bristol Brunel Academy by Wilkinson Eyre Architects
  • The Hat Shop (Out of the Hat) by Architecton
  • Mirldown House by Stan Bolt Architect
  • Sanger Building for Science & Mathematics Bryanston School by Hopkins Architects

West Midlands

  • Aston Martin Design Studio by Weedon Partnership
  • The Belgrade Theatre by Stanton Williams
  • Fort Dunlop by ShedKM
  • Holloway Circus Tower by Ian Simpson Architects
  • King's School Library by Associated Architects
  • St Judes Primary School by Baart Harries Newall
  • Wolverhampton Art Gallery by Purcell Miller Tritton


  • Canon Popham Foundation Unit by DSDHA
  • Information Commons by RMJM


  • Blaenavon World Heritage Centre by Purcell Miller Tritton


  • The Meter House by twenty two over seven
  • Orchard Building by Scott Wilson
  • Private house by twenty two over seven
  • Spire of Hope, St Annes Cathedral by Colin Conn Architects/Robert Jamison Architects
  • Strule Arts Centre by Kennedy FitzGerald & Associates


  • BBC Scotland HQ at Pacific Quay by David Chipperfield Architects
  • Castlemilk Stables by Elder and Cannon Architects
  • New Arts Faculty Building for the University of St Andrews by Reiach and Hall Architects
  • Pier Arts Centre by Reiach and Hall Architects
  • Todlaw Supported Housing by Oliver Chapman Architects