Extra £80m from Scottish Futures Trust ups number of new-builds to 67

Scotland flag

The Scottish Government has detailed the final 30 projects that will make up its £1.25bn Schools for the Future programme.

It has also added 12 new-builds to the list after Scottish Futures Trust  brought forward £80m of planned investment for allocation to revenue-financed secondary school projects, allowing these projects to be delivered more quickly.

Twelve of those projects are earmarked as potentially able to start construction within the next 12-18 months.

All of the schools in the programme are due for completion by March 2018 (see below for full details of the schools).

Scottish government education secretary Michael Russell said that by the time the Schools for the Future programme finished, some 46,000 pupils would have been moved into top-quality schools.

“The first two phases of Scotland’s Schools for the Future programme are already lifting thousands of pupils out of poor quality buildings,” he said.

“We have met every local authority’s request for priority builds and added an extra 12 schools to the programme because of the Scottish Futures Trust’s vigorous commitment to value for money.

“More schools are being built, and faster, but for the same level of investment as originally planned.

According to Scottish Futures Trust, eight schools are currently being built under the programme, while construction of a further 10 schools was due start during 2012.

Schools seen as the most shovel-ready:

  • Aberdeen City Council – new secondary to replace Torry and Kincorth Academies
  • Aberdeenshire Council – Alford Community Campus
  • Angus Council – Forfar Academy
  • East Renfrewshire Council – Barrhead High School
  • Fife Council – New secondary to replace Buckhaven and Kirkland High Schools
  • Highland Council – Inverness Royal Academy
  • Midlothian Council – Newbattle High School
  • Moray Council – Elgin High School
  • North Lanarkshire Council – Greenfaulds High School
  • Scottish Borders Council – Kelso High School
  • Shetland Islands Council – Anderson High School
  • South Ayrshire Council – Marr College

The remaining Wave 3 schools:

  • Argyll & Bute Council – Oban High School
  • City of Edinburgh Council – St John’s Primary School
  • Clackmannanshire Council – Craigbank Primary School
  • Comhairle nan Eilean Siar – New Primary School in North Uist
  • Dumfries & Galloway Council – Crichton 15+ secondary school
  • Dundee City Council – Baldragon Academy
  • East Ayrshire Council – New secondary to replace Kilmarnock and James Hamilton Academies
  • East Dunbartonshire Council – New primary school
  • Falkirk Council – Carrongrange ASN School
  • Glasgow City Council – Garscadden Primary School
  • Inverclyde Council – Refurbishment of St Patrick’s Primary School
  • North Ayrshire Council – New secondary to replace Ardrossan and Auchenharvie Academies
  • Perth & Kinross Council – New secondary school
  • Renfrewshire Council – New ASN school
  • South Lanarkshire Council – New primary to replace Halfmerke Primary School and West Mains ASN school
  • Stirling Council – St Ninian’s Primary School
  • West Dunbartonshire Council – Our Lady and St Patrick’s High School
  • West Lothian Council – Refurbishment of West Calder High School