Haworth Tompkins and O’Donnell & Tuomey make shortlist

Stirling Prize winners Haworth Tompkins and RIBA Gold Medal winners O’Donnell & Tuomey are among the architects shortlisted to design a major educational and cultural quarter in London’s Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park.

London Legacy Development Corporation has announced a shortlist of six teams for the scheme – which also includes David Chipperfield, Aecom, Ramboll, Allies & Morrison and Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios.

The scheme is planned for a site just south of the London 2012 Aquatics Centre and has been nicknamed ‘Olympicopolis’.

The Victoria & Albert Museum, Sadler’s Wells, University of the Arts London and UCL are all planning new campuses in the project.

Chancellor George Osborne announced a £141m boost for the project in the Autumn Statement.

The two-stage competition, run by Malcolm Reading Consultants, was launched in September and attracted interest from 1,000 architects, masterplanners, engineers and landscape designers from around the world.

The six finalist teams were picked from 43 entries, including 125 architects.

They must now submit concept designs for the culture and education quarter by Easter 2015 with the winner announced in late spring.

The first team consists of Aecom with Stanton Williams, Alison Brooks Architects, AKT II, Asif Khan, Carmody Groarke, Charcoalblue, Haworth Tompkins and Vogt Landscape Architects.

The second team is Ramboll UK with Rick Mather, RCR, Jun’ya Ishigami, So-il, Max Fordham, Eckersley O’Callaghan, Steer Davies Gleave, Gardiner and Theobald, Savills, Britain Thinks, Eley Kishimoto, Ab Rogers, Charcoalblue, Speirs & Major and Gross.max.

The third team is Allies & Morrison with Buro Happold, O’Donnell & Tuomey, Gardiner & Theobald, Gustafson Porter and Josep Camps/Olga Felip Arquitecturia.

The fourth team is David Chipperfield Architects with Arup, Robbrecht en Daem, Harry Gugger Studio, Vogt Landscape Architects, Publica Associates, Alinea consulting.

The fifth team is Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios with Atelier Ten, Grant Associates, Expedition, Charcoalblue, Gardiner & Theobald, 5th Studio, Coffey Architects, David Kohn, DRDH Architects, Hoidn Wang Partner and Thomas Matthews.

The sixth team is Baumschlager Eberle with 6a Architects, Office Kersten Geers David Van Severen, Latz&Partner, Buro Happold, Momentum Consulting Engineers, Charcoalblue, Gardiner & Theobald, Polly Staple and Chisenhale Gallery.