37 British projects amongst 340 nominated for EU architecture prize

David Chipperfield, Foreign Office Architects and David Adjaye are the leading British contenders for the Mies van der Rohe Award 2009.

The biennial award is the official European Union prize for contemporary architecture, and the architect of the winning building walks away with €60,000. Previous winners have included Foster + Partners, OMA and Zaha Hadid.

Twenty-three British architects have been nominated, with several for two or more buildings. Of the 340 projects nominated, there are 37, or 11%, designed by British architects. David Chipperfield has been nominated for five separate buildings, including his BBC Scotland building in Glasgow. Foreign Office Architects has had four buildings recognised, and David Adjaye three.

The other British architects on the list of 370 are:


Allies and Morrison

big architects

Brisac Gonzalez Architects

CF Moller

Denton Corker Marshall


Gareth Hoskins Architects


Gustafson Porter

Heatherwick Studio

Marks Barfield Architects

muf architecture

Reiach and Hall Architects

Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners

Sergison Bates

Simon Conder Associates

Stephen Taylor Architects

Tony Fretton Architects

Zaha Hadid Architects

As well as a cash prize, worth £56,230 with today’s exchange rate, the winner also receives a sculpture of Mies van der Rohe’s German Pavilion in Barcelona. Five architects will be shortlisted in April, with a winner announced in May.