This year's Architect of the Year Awards recognise all those who are helping to improve design standards. Our coverage includes full details of all the winners, images of their work, comments from the judges and a video report of the awards ceremony on November 1.

Bigger and better is the verdict on this year’s awards, which attracted more than 200 entries from many of the UK’s leading practices including Foster & Partners, Arup Associates and Allies & Morrison, as well as smaller, emerging offices such as Fat, Maccreanor Lavington and Peter Barber Architects.

Unlike most architectural prizes, the Architect of the Year Award is not given to a single building but to a body of work, with the judges rewarding practices who consistently raise the bar not just with one great project but several, and with more on the way.

Since its launch in 2004, the Architect of the Year Awards has grown in size and stature, featuring entries and attendance from leading practices and is now firmly established as a key event in the architectural calendar.


Iain Borden, UCL; Dickon Robinson; Peter Bishop, Design For London; Alistair Lenczner, Foster & Partners; Philip Gumuchdjian, Gumuchdjian; Nathan Cornish, Urban Splash; Marco Goldschmied; Neil Grey, CB Richard Ellis; Ben Denton, First Base; Sarah Gaventa, CABE Space; Andy MacFee, Surface Architects; Tracey Meller, Rogers Stirk Harbour & Partners

The 2007 Winners - announced

For more detail on the winners and images of their work, click on the links below.

Education building architect of the year
Van Heyningen & Haward

Health Building Architect of the Year
Penoyre and Prasad

Interior Designer of the Year

Project Orange

Leisure/Sport Building Architect of the Year
Arup Associates

Masterplanning Architect of the Year
Allies and Morrison

Office Building Architect of the Year
Lifschutz Davidson Sandilands

Private Housing Architect of the Year
Building Design Partnership

Public Building Architect of the Year
Allies and Morrison

Public Housing Architect of the Year
Peter Barber Architects

Single Dwelling Architect of the Year
Seth Stein Architects

Industrial/R&D Architect of the Year
3D Reid

Retail Building Architect of the Year
John McAslan and Partners

BD Client of the Year
Building Better Health

Feilden Architect of the Year
Allies and Morrison

World Architecture of the Year
Foster and Partners

Young Architect of the Year
Carmody Groarke

Entertainment and Charity Sponsor Monodraught were yet again delighted to sponsor this year’s Charity Casino at the Architect of the Year Awards.

Monodraught have pioneered the application of natural ventilation strategies and are famous for their SunPipe systems. Their latest energy saving product is the Sola-boost, which provides solar powered ventilation to add to the already highly successful Windcatcher range. The solar panel embedded into the top of the Monodraught systems powers up a fan only during sunny weather, at a time when solar gain to the premises is at its highest – and all this without any energy costs whatsoever! Monodraught now produce a range of 15 energy saving products, all emphasising the company’s strapline of ”putting the sun and wind to work”.

Video report: Architect of the Year Awards 2007